Perfect Children?

Do you ever have a moment when you really wished you’d responded differently to a comment someone made? I had one of those last night.

After some very informal dance exhibitions at my daughter’s studio, a mom that I didn’t know asked if my daughter was good at everything.

I thought about it for a moment and said, “Yes. She is.” Then told a story about how she was very upset before the performances because she  thought she didn’t know the dances. Seriously, you’d have thought that I had told her she was getting her arm cut off, rather than doing a couple of informal demonstrations for parents in the dance studios.

The other mom commented that my daughter was a perfectionist. (true) Then the mom asked me what it was like to have a child who was good at everything.

Feeling like a deer in the headlights, I responded by saying that both my kids are good at what they do and one of them is a teenage boy who thinks he knows everything.

Pretty sure that was the wrong answer and was probably super off-putting to the other mom.

Having more time to think about it, here’s what I wish I’d said:

I wish I’d commented about how driven my kids are. About how hard they work to get better at what they do. About how they pay attention to their teachers and coaches. Even about how they help other kids when they get the opportunity. About how when they can’t do something they want to do, they keep working at it until they can do it. About how I don’t know how I got blessed with these young people, but that I wouldn’t change them for the world.

Maybe someday that other mom will see this post and understand that I wasn’t trying to be conceited and that I was surprised by her question and didn’t know what to say. Maybe not.

p.s. I think all children are perfect.

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you, Andrea. That means a lot coming from you!

Leave a Reply

