A Simple Way to Grow Your Instagram Account

Yesterday, I made a few suggestions about pictures to share through Instagram. Now that you have a good general idea of what to share, I want to talk about a simple way to find friends and followers in the big Instagram world. I believe that it’s 400,000,000 strong and counting, so it’s easy to get lost and overwhelmed. Do not worry, though. Like in the real world, you want to create your own community.

I have a little over 5,000 followers on Instagram, so my account is respectable, but not huge. It would be bigger if I followed everyone who followed me, but I don’t, so people who follow me just to gain followers soon unfollow my account. And that’s just fine.

The best way I’ve found to meet people on Instagram is to use hashtags. And by using them, I don’t mean just posting them on your pictures. You can either click a hashtag under a picture or you can use Instagram’s search function.

Clicking on a hashtag will bring you to a page of pictures that have also used that hashtag. There will be 9 top posts in the top section and the bottom section will have all the other pictures. Using hashtags like this is an excellent way to find accounts you want to follow, and by liking posts under these hashtags and following the creators you like the best, you will soon find that people are following your account in return.

When you click the magnifying glass symbol to use Instagram’s search function, Instagram will bring up a slew of pictures that you might be interested in. If you click one picture, it will make them all larger and you can scroll down and like the pictures that you want to like and follow the accounts that you like the best. Some of these people will follow you back as well.

My suggestion is to be picky when you follow accounts. While it is tempting (and I certainly did it at first), if you follow everyone who follows you, you will soon have an unmanageable and not very attractive feed. Personally, I want my feed to be filled with great beauty, friends, family and pictures that take me to another world – or even another part of the world. I don’t want to have to slog through a bunch of advertising or selfies to find pics that I really like. Because I followed everyone at first, my feed got pretty yucky. Eventually, I swallowed my guilt and unfollowed the accounts that I didn’t really find interesting.

If you were wondering if this is time-consuming, why yes, it is. However, I don’t know of any other way, besides already having put in the work to be famous, to meet new friends and attract new followers on Instagram.

p.s. It’s also nice to comment on the pictures that you like the most and to reply to people who comment on your pictures.  And this picture is a macro I took of an allium in a flower arrangement at the Botanical Gardens.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Nicole says:

    THANK YOU for this!! I’ve been researching more to figure out how to step up my social media game, and have been overwhelmed by what all has been recommended for Instagram. I cringed at how many bloggers recommended to blindly follow everyone. I can handle the likes, but following everyone just seemed overwhelming. I’m going to try your suggestion with doing more commenting instead.

    1. I found that following everyone became very overwhelming! And if you really want a large group of followers, you simply can’t follow them all. Instagram only lets you follow 7,500 people (only – ha!).

  2. Christy,
    I’m always interested in people’s ideas about how to use Instagram. Although I have used it extensively for years, this is the first time I’ve thought of using it to promote my brand. You have given me at least oneway to think about that.
    Thanks!
    And are you in contact with the fellow 30 day blog challenge participant who wrote today on exactly the same topic as you?
    http://www.emikoulev.com/more-traffic-with-instagram/
    “Life likes to rhyme!”
    Thanks for a good post!
    Sandy

    1. I read her post. Thank you for sharing the link with me, Sandy. I thought her post was very interesting.

Leave a Reply

