Mom Guilt

If you’re a mom, you know what I’m talking about. There’s no getting away from it. At some point, maybe at many points, we do something we regret and boom, there it is. The feeling that we are horrible mothers.

Personally, I deal with this daily as I let my kids play on their electronics basically as much as they want. And I used to blow my top when they disrespected me; though I have gotten much better at controlling my temper – as a pre-menopausal woman, let me tell you that GABA is a lifesaver for my family and me. No side effects but a much calmer temper from this substance that our body manufactures in smaller quantities as we age.

But, let’s talk about the mom guilt brought on by those parents. You know the ones – they have crafting stations in their homes. They and their children always make homemade everything and you know that their sons have never played MineCraft, nor have their daughters every watched My Little Pony. I mention those two things because that’s what my kids are doing right now.

Seriously, Pinterest moms, could you please, just once, show your little angel throwing not only flour, but themselves on the floor having a fit because well, sometimes that’s just what kids do. Or show the perfect bento box lunch bloopers so I don’t have to feel so bad about not making little food faces for my kids to discover when they open their lunch boxes? I figure that it’s good that I sent my kids off to school with lunches that they’ll eat. Never mind trying to make them fancy in the few minutes that I have to put them together before I drive my little angels to their respective schools.

What do you think? Do you find the Pinterest perfect parents to be motivating or de-motivating?

By the way, this picture is my kids at the beach this summer in their street clothes. We were attempting to go to an aquarium that happened to be closed that day, which I would have seen had I checked the website. It was next to a beach, but we didn’t have swimsuits, so…

Leave a Reply

