Why I Don’t Eat Wheat

About two and a half years ago, I read a book that truly changed the way I eat. “Wheat Belly” was written by a cardiologist who had seen amazing, positive changes in his patients who stopped eating wheat. So, I figured that I’d give it a try and see what happened.

Well, the first thing I noticed is that my stomach was less bloated and my digestive system seemed a lot happier; in other words, I wasn’t nearly as gassy, thank goodness. That was so embarrassing and uncomfortable. My sinuses cleared up considerably. Over time, I noticed that the breakouts on my face and the back of my arms just went away. And not too long ago, I noticed that my heels don’t crack anymore. I used to have cracks in the calluses  on my heels year round.

Now,  just to be clear, I don’t have Celiac’s disease and the only thing I changed about my diet was to replace wheat carrying foods with non-wheat foods.

I use rice noodles for spaghetti and lasagna. I have never been much of a bread eater, but I enjoy the occasional sandwich on wheat free bread. The ones at Snarf’s are amazing.

Lately, I have noticed that there are claims that wheat doesn’t affect people negatively. I believe this is big farming’s push back against the popularity of gluten-free foods. But, I believe the claims are not true. After all, removing wheat from my diet has made me a much healthier person.

Read “Wheat Belly.” It explains why our wheat today isn’t the same as the wheat we (or I, I’m 50) ate as children. Our bodies no longer recognize it as a food. Try a wheat free diet for a few weeks and see if you notice any changes. If there’s nothing, no harm was done. If there’s something, then you can live a much healthier life without giving up much of anything.

Leave a Reply

